From 1988 Magna Charta Universitatum


"The university is an autonomous institution at the heart of societies differently organized because of geography and historical heritage; it produces, examines, appraises and hands down culture by research and teaching.

To meet the needs of the world around it, its research and teaching must be morally and intellectually independent of all political authority and economic power ."

Novi Sad Initiative

Addressing Questions of Structural Reform in Higher Education

Novi Sad Initiative is a European bottom-up initiative addressing questions of structural reform in higher education with the emphasise on Western Balkan Region. It tackles the hardest issues in higher education reform.

The initiative evolved from the European expert seminar on institutional reform which took place in Novi Sad on October 28-30, 2005, now known as the "Novi Sad Initiative". After follow up events in Dubrovnik in 2007 and Sarajevo in 2009, Novi Sad Initiative became Regional process with a series of biannual conferences. Wider European context of the Novi Sad Initiative is subject of special expert events every five years (Novi Sad Seminar in 2005 and Dubrovnik Forum on 2010).

Since 2009 Novi Sad Initiative operates under the umbrella of the Regional Cooperation Council (RCC), and its goals have been included in the RCC plan for 2011-1013.

In 2010, in the mature phase of Novi Sad Initiative, a large consortium of higher education institutions and authorities, intimately related to the Novi Sad Initiative, received three years EC grant (STREW Tempus project: 511355-TEMPUS-1-2010-1-RS-TEMPUS-SMHES) to build capacity for structural reform in Western Balkan Countries. Since then NS Initiative supports closely the goals of this project.
 • EC / EACEA/ Tempus Programme

 • King Baudouin Foundation

 • Fond for Open Society Serbia


 • German Rectors' Conference

 • Regional Cooperation Council

 • Council of Europe

 • Federal Ministry for Science and
    Research, Austria

 • Council of the Autonomous
    Province of Vojvodina, Serbia

 • Ministry of Science, Education
    and Sports, Croatia

 • University of Zagreb, Croatia

 • Centre for eGov. Dev. - CEGD,

 • European Association for
    International Education (EAIE)

 • Konrad Adenauer Foundation